Skip to content

My first sari

December 4, 2012

ironing the sariI wasn’t expecting to enjoy wearing a sari.  As I ironed the five metres of fabric I felt like a household drudge. Having googled ‘how to wear a sari’, I came up with a number of videos that were supposed to help, but only served to emphasise that it’s much more than just draping a bit of fabric over you prettily.  For a start you need to have made a small top or ‘blouse’ and buy an underskirt in a matching colour.  But as my housemates showed me, you then need to perfect the process: wind it round you, tuck it in, make perfect pleats for over your shoulder, then perfect pleats for the front, if you want to wear it Indian style, finishing by pinning the fabric so it hugs the figure and doesn’t look like a tent.  

So half an hour later I was dressed – and surprisingly found myself sitting taller, walking more elegantly and feeling very feminine.  A sari is pretty soft and comfortable to wear – my female friends joke about the ‘natural air conditioning’ – and doesn’t constrict your legs as you might expect it to.

me in a sariWhen I wore it for the first time to the school carol service it felt good to blend in, a little, at last.  When I’d finished blending in, I got plenty of comments about how nice I looked in my sari, crazy European!

It’s not to say I don’t feel a little resentful that covering up knees and shoulders helps to avoid stares and the odd touch from a sly man-hand.

But the experience of wearing one of the world’s most elegant garments has made me realise how much care goes into choosing and wearing a sari, so much so that I think I might get another one!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2012 1:45 pm

    My friend Phil brought me a Sari back from India a while ago – you’ll have to show me how to put it on. Love the colour – really suits you. xxx

    • December 5, 2012 10:08 am

      Thanks Char, that’s coz I’m a winter 😉 And yes, we can go for an Indian in our saris! Mum can come too, she’s also got one!

  2. December 4, 2012 2:19 pm

    Looks great Nicky, but I’m not sure that that level of time commitment of a morning is sustainable!

    • December 5, 2012 10:10 am

      agreed! my poor chums, it takes them about 5mins to get ready themselves plus another 15 to dress me!

  3. December 4, 2012 9:47 pm

    I knew Saris were huge but I had no idea just how much fabric was involved

  4. December 5, 2012 10:11 am

    It does feel a bit like you’re walking around in a fabric shop! thanks for the comment 🙂

  5. liz permalink
    December 27, 2012 8:20 pm

    yup Mum is up for that curry!!

Leave a Reply

